Sunday, May 22, 2011

The time and space machine

Richard Norris (born 1965) is a London based record producer, sound engineer and musician, best known as a member of The Grid.[1]

He started working in the music industry as the label manager for the British psychedelic record label, Bam Caruso, before becoming a writer for NME in 1987. In the same year he co-produced the Jack The Tab album with Genesis P. Orridge, before signing the Grid to Warner Bros. Records/East West Records in 1988. The Grid had ten UK Singles Chart hits between 1990 and 1995, including "Floatation", "Crystal Clear", "Texas Cowboys", "Rollercoaster" and the million-selling "Swamp Thing". He is also half of the remix/DJ duo with Erol Alkan under the Beyond the Wizard's Sleeve moniker, under which they released an EP, Birth in 2005, followed by a second Spring in the summer of 2006. A third mini album, called George was released on St. George's Day 2007 and a fourth EP, West, was released in Autumn 2007. Beyond the Wizard's Sleeve (BTWS) have remixed The Chemical Brothers, Tracey Thorn, Badly Drawn Boy, Midlake and Goldfrapp. A compilation of BTWS mixes, Reanimations Volume One, was released in 2009. Norris also compiled the techno compilation album, Flux Trax.

Norris was also a friend of Joe Strummer. The pair worked together briefly on the soundtrack for Grosse Pointe Blank, and Norris would later appear on The Mescaleros debut album, Rock Art and the X-Ray Style, co-writing and producing the tracks "Sandpaper Blues" and "Yalla Yalla". Norris has also written Paul Oakenfold's official biography. The Grid's album Doppelgänger was released on 25 March 2008.

Norris' new project, The Time and Space Machine, signed to Tirk Records in 2009 and released a 7" single, "Children Of The Sun" b/w "Zeitghost", in July 2009. A further EP, You Are The One appeared in November 2009, followed by a Time and Space Machine album, 'Set Phazer To Stun' in 2010. The title track from the album was heard in a recent episode of CSI:New York. A second Time and Space Machine album is due in 2011. The Time and Space Machine collaborated with designer Luke Insect and the streetwear label Stussy to create a series of Time and Space Machine x Stussy T-Shirts in 2010. Norris has recently completed remixes for Bryan Ferry, Silver Columns, and many more. A compilation of his remixes, 'New Masters Volume Two' was released by Nang Records in November 2010. Beyond The Wizard's Sleeve are recording their debut album of original material.

set phazer to stun-2010

No comments:

Post a Comment