Wednesday, June 8, 2011

Nirvana (UK band)-The Story of Simon Simopath

The Story Of Simon Simopath is Nirvana's debut album released by Island Records in 1967. It traces the story from life to death of the titular hero via a series of short songs which are similar in tone and innocence to the work of Mark Wirtz.
The certain level of 'obscurity' that the album has, makes it a classic for most fans. It was very highly acclaimed by critics making it one of the most important albums released in the psychedelic genre of the UK. Some people compare some of the arrangements to those in "Sgt. Pepper's", while others simply put it in a category all by itself because of the complex orchestrations.[weasel words]
The story deals with a boy named Simon Simopath who dreams of having wings. He is unpopular at school, and after reaching adulthood (in 1999) goes to work in an office in front of a computer. He suffers a nervous breakdown and is unable to find help in a mental institution, but gets aboard a rocket and meets a centaur who will be his friend and a tiny goddess named Magdalena, who works at Pentecost Hotel. Simon and Magdalena fall in love and get married, followed by a jazzy party.
"Pentecost Hotel" was released as a single with the non-album B-side, "Feelin' Shattered'." "Wings of Love" was the next single, also with a non-album B-side, "Requiem to John Coltrane." "Girl in the Park," from the second album All of Us featured the B-side, "C Side In Ocho Rios," which is an instrumental version of "In the Courtyard of the Stars."

Track listing

  • All Songs Written By Patrick Campbell-Lyons & Alex Spyropolous.
  1. "Wings of Love" – 3:20
  2. "Lonely Boy" – 2:31
  3. "We Can Help You" – 1:57
  4. "Satellite Jockey" – 2:35
  5. "In the Courtyard of the Stars" – 2:36
  6. "You Are Just the One" – 2:07
  7. "Pentecost Hotel" – 3:06
  8. "I Never Found a Love Like This" – 2:50
  9. "Take This Hand" – 2:17
  10. "1999" – 2:09
The 2003 Universal Island Remasters collection includes both stereo and mono versions of the album on one disc. This release contains several bonus tracks:
  • 21. "I Believe in Magic" (B-side to "Tiny Goddess")
  • 22. "Life Ain't Easy" (previously unreleased version)
  • 23. "Feelin' Shattered" (B-side to "Pentecost Hotel")
  • 24. "Requiem to John Coltrane" (B-side to "Wings of Love")
All songs composed by Patrick Campbell-Lyons and Alex Spyropoulos


  • Patrick Campbell-Lyons – Guitar & Vocals
  • Ray Singer – Guitar & Vocals
  • Alex Spyropoulos – Piano & Keyboards
  • Michael Coe - French Horn & Viola
  • Brian Henderson - Bass
  • Peter Kester – Drums
  • David Preston – Drums
  • Patrick Shanahan – Drums
  • Sylvia A. Schuster – Cello

No comments:

Post a Comment