Sunday, July 14, 2013

Bob Marley - Kaya (1978) - Full Album

01. Easy Skanking
02. Kaya
03. Is This Love
04. Sun Is Shining
05. Satisfy My Soul
06. She's Gone
07. Misty Morning
08. Crisis
09. Running Away
10. Time Will Tell

All tracks written by Bob Marley

Kaya is a roots reggae album released by Bob Marley and the Wailers in 1978. The album consists of tracks recorded alongside those present on the Exodus album in 1977. The album has a very relaxed, laid back sound, lacking much of the militant quality of the Wailers lyrically and musically. They received criticism for 'going soft' as a result of the general sound of the album as well as the theme: songs primarily revolving around love, as well as marijuana. The album's release coincided with the One Love Peace Concert, heralding Marley's triumphant return to Jamaica from exodus in London. Many of the songs present on this album, as well as its sister album Exodus, are rerecorded versions of older tracks present on albums like African Herbsman. Well known songs from the album include "Is This Love" and "Satisfy My Soul". Kaya reached the top five in the UK album charts.

Bob Marley -- lead vocals, rhythm guitar, acoustic guitar, percussion
Aston "Family Man" Barrett -- bass, percussion
Carlton Barrett -- drums, percussion
Tyrone "Organ D" Downie -- keyboards, percussion
Alvin "Seeco" Patterson -- percussion
Junior Marvin -- lead guitar
Rita Marley -- backing vocals
Marcia Griffiths -- backing vocals
Judy Mowatt -- backing vocals
Vincent Gordon -- saxophone
Glen Da Costa -- trombone

No comments:

Post a Comment